Biscuit-topped chicken pot pie

So, here it is. My first post! I thought it’d be fitting to feature one of my favorite foods: chicken pot pie.

A simple yet savory and light chicken pot pie. When you are craving a comfort food without a bunch of calories, how can you go wrong with this delightful dish?

Well, if you ask me, you can’t. Plain and simple.

Earlier this year, I knew I wanted to learn how to make some type of chicken pot pie. Growing up, I loved eating them–particularly the Marie Callender brand. So, I suddenly set off on a very important mission to find a delicious and fairly simple pot pie I could make on my own.

And, yes, I did know that whatever kind I ended up making would not be quite as good as Marie’s. I could live with that.

My inspiration eventually came from Cooking Light’s ‘Comfort Foods’ cookbook. When I stumbled across their “biscuit-topped chicken pot pie,” I knew I was sold.

The difference with my version comes down to a few things: 1). More salt and pepper for seasoning; 2). More biscuit topping to go around; 3). More cornstarch for a thicker filling; and 4). Using “real” chicken and potatoes. Yes, it takes a bit more time than pre-cooked foods, but it’s worth it. And you’ll get over it once you taste it this way!

So, here it is: a slightly tweaked version of my now infamous pot pie my husband loves. While the ingredient list may seem long, it’s a pretty easy dish to make. Hope you enjoy! If the final version looks like the picture below, you’ll be happy with it. I promise.

Light chicken pot pie
A light version of a delicious comfort food.

 

Tell me: what is your favorite type of pot pie?

Biscuit-topped chicken pot pie

Adapted from Cooking Light’s version

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2 cups chopped leeks
  • 1/4 cup chopped shallot
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 1/2 cups diced, partially cooked potatoes
  • 1/3 cup dry white wine
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 (14-ounce) can fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth (or 2 chicken bouillon cubes)
  • 2 cups cooked chicken, boiled and shredded
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen mixed veggies
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, or more to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper, or more to taste
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 3 tablespoons cold water
  • 2/3 cup half & half
  • Cooking spray
  • 1 3/4 cups Bisquick mix
  • 3/4 cup skim milk
  • 1 large egg white, lightly beaten

Directions:

FILLING

  • Boil chicken and remove from pan; allow to cool before shredding or chopping into pieces. At same time, cook potatoes for about half of normal time (7 minutes or so).
  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees
  • Melt butter in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat; add leek, shallot, thyme and sauté 2 minutes. Add potatoes; sauté 2 minutes.
  • Add wine; cook 1 minute or until liquid evaporates. Stir in mustard and broth; bring to a boil. Cook 4 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Stir in chicken, mixed vegetables, salt, and pepper; cook 1 minute.
  • Combine cornstarch and 3 tablespoons cold water in a small bowl, stirring with a whisk. Add cornstarch mixture and half-and-half to pan.
  • Reduce heat, simmer 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Spoon mixture into a 13 x 9-inch baking dish coated with cooking spray. NOTE: This is where you should taste your pot pie, adjusting seasonings as needed. Add more salt and/or pepper.

CRUST

  • Lightly spoon baking mix into dry measuring cups; level with back of butter knife. Combine baking mix, milk, and egg in a medium bowl, stirring.
  • Spoon batter over chicken mixture; spread evenly to cover. Bake at 425° for 20 minutes or until topping is golden and filling is bubbly. Let stand 10 minutes.

Notes (last updated 4/26/15):

  • We’ve recently been doubling the amount of filling (doubling everything in recipe but the leeks) so it goes further. We usually leave out extra leeks, though. If you do this, you can still use the same size pan — just be sure to put a baking sheet beneath it to catch any filling that happens to ooze out.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Connie Post says:

    Yum! Yum! Looks wonderful, Kelly! I think you should put your name — big — on the home page!!!

    1. Kelly says:

      Thank you, Connie! It is a wonderful recipe. And I think that is some excellent advice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

