Basic and savory cornbread

Mmmm. Simple and delicious cornbread.

This is definitely one of my favorite sides to pair with soup, stew or chili. It’s a great way to use pantry staples in no time at all.

And, I’ll be honest: it’s something I can make that I KNOW my husband will enjoy. ;-). It also doesn’t hurt that I am slightly obsessed with it. Once you make this recipe, I can guarantee that you will not want to buy boxed cornbread again.

I started with a base recipe from my husband’s mom and tweaked the ingredient amounts a bit to our liking. What resulted was a moist, fluffy, not-too-sweet and not-too-crumbly cornbread.

The key, as I’ve discovered, is to NOT overmix the batter when you are adding the wet ingredients to the dry or else the bread will be tough.  Another important part is to get it in the oven quickly so that it will rise appropriately.

Try it out for yourself and tell me what you think! I do want to know: what do you do to your cornbread that suits your fancy? Do you add a special ingredient or top it with something special?

[BAKING TIME: 25 MINUTES]

Ingredients: 

  • 3/4 cup cornmeal
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 stick butter, melted
  • 1 tablespoon butter to grease pan

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Grease your pan: Melt a tablespoon of butter into an 8x8x2 pan. I simply microwave it for about 20 seconds or so.
  • Mix dry ingredients thoroughly. Combine milk and beaten egg; add to dry ingredients.
  • Stir in melted butter by hand but ONLY enough to mix in the dry ingredients.
  • Pour batter into the greased pan and put into oven. Bake for 25 minutes or until toothpick inserted into center of bread comes out clean and edges of bread begin to separate from pan.
Leave a Reply

