Chicken and dumplings

What’s possibly better than chicken pot pie? Chicken and dumplings.

I did say possibly.

After all, chicken pot pie is hands down my favorite food. The difference between this recipe and my pot pie recipe pretty much comes down to this: simplicity.

While the pot pie recipe on my blog is still relatively easy (for a pot pie), the chicken and dumplings is about foolproof. Unless, of course, you decide to under-season like I tend to do every once in a while.

But who’s asking about me?

All right, fine. I may have not added nearly enough salt to the first batch I made earlier this year. Or to the one I made tonight.

But that’s where practice come in. And I apparently need to remember that in THIS recipe, a teaspoon of salt does not nearly do this recipe justice. Try tripling that.

My husband can attest to this! I told him earlier tonight that, if he wanted, he could season his bowl with salt and pepper if he felt it needed more.

“Did you taste it?” he asked. “Yes,” I said. He had a puzzled look on his face after trying his bowl. When I tasted it during cooking, I thought it needed more salt.

But after a couple of times in the kitchen of recently OVER seasoning, I now tend to take it a bit more easy. I figure you can always add more later to your own serving, if needed.

The lesson here, folks: trust your instincts. Chance are, you’re right.

So, here it is: a simple yet delicious it-tastes-like-it’s-been-cooking-much-longer-than 50 minutes chicken and dumplings.

**Keep in mind that you can add different vegetables (frozen or fresh) to add some color. If adding frozen veggies, just remember to add them toward the end of cooking. Also, some people like creating a roux to thicken everything up. I feel this version does not need any thickening, so that is why I did not include flour, cornstarch, etc.**

**Serves: 6-8

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 lbs. chicken (I use boneless, skinless chicken breasts)
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 medium onion
  • 3 carrots, diced
  • 2 stalks celery. diced
  • 1/4 cup frozen peas
  • 2 cups Bisquick
  • 2/3 cup milk (fat free works fine for me!)
  • 1 tablespoon salt, pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS

  • Place chicken in large enough pot to fit comfortably on the bottom. Cover with water.
  • Boil chicken: Turn heat to medium-high and, when boiling, lower heat, cover, and simmer for 15-20 minutes or until no longer pink inside. (Temp needs to reach 165 degrees)
  • Remove chicken and set aside. It needs to cool for a little while before shredding.
  • Add diced vegetables to hot water and cook for about 10 minutes or until tender.
  • While vegetables cook, stir Bisquick and milk together in a large bowl. Once vegetables are tender, drop spoonfuls of Bisquick mixture into pot. Make sure the dumplings are submerged in the water by gently pressing them with the back of a large spoon.
  • Follow Bisquick dumpling directions: Cook uncovered for 10 minutes; covered for another 10 minutes.
  • Uncover lid; taste and adjust seasoning as needed.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kelly, I always add chicken bullion to my broth for added flavor!

    1. klymcmullen says:

      That sounds good! If you’d be willing, Nana, I’d love to have some of your recipes you’ve used over the years :-). Whether that means e-mailing some of them (via photos or not), or just giving them to me when convenient, I’d love to use them!

Leave a Reply

