Beef Stew

“Holy crap, it smells good in here!”

Those were my husband’s words he texted me while I was at work one day. He was referring to how the condo smelled after I made this beef stew for the first time.

The secret to this entrancing smell? Herbs. Using LOTS of herbs. In fact, at least double what the recipe wanted.

Needless to say, we’ve gone on to have this meal once every couple of weeks or so. Or more often if it’s colder outside–like how it is now.

As I type this, it’s officially 4 degrees out here in Beavercreek, Ohio. This means it probably was around a balmy 8 degrees when I made dinner earlier, if I could guess.

Brutal cold temperatures like these put me in the mood for one thing: yep, it’s homemade beef stew. And, of course, cornbread.

So that’s what I stirred up tonight. My husband happened to work really late tonight and still is not home, so I know he will especially be thankful when he walks in and smells the beef stew and buttery corn bread!

This meal probably goes down as his favorite that I’ve made. And it all started with a recipe I found online, tweaked, and ended up loving.

Aside from throwing in more dried herbs, the other changes I make include seasoning the beef before browning, thickening the stew more, and making sure to use red potatoes. Red potatoes hold together better–something that definitely helps in a soup/stew.

I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Beef Stew

[TOTAL COOKING TIME: JUST OVER 2 HOURS]

Adapted from AllRecipe’s version:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2-2 lbs beef stew meat, cubed
  • 2-3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 4 cubes beef bouillon, crumbled (*I’ve also used a 32 oz. Swanson beef broth carton)
  • 4 cups water
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons dried rosemary
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 3 large red potatoes, peeled and cubed (*I prefer red, though you can use any kind)
  • 4 carrots, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 4 stalks celery, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 large onion, chopped (*I use 1 1/2 tablespoons onion powder, instead)
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons cold water

Directions:

  • Season beef with salt and pepper. Add garlic powder, if you’d like.
  • In a large pot or dutch oven, cook beef in oil over medium-high heat until browned. Drain and return to pot.
  • Dissolve bouillon into boiling water and pour into pot. Stir in rosemary, parsley, and pepper.
  • Bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer for half hour.
  • Add carrots and celery. Cover and cook additional half hour.
  • Stir onion or onion powder and potatoes into pot. Cover and simmer 1 hour longer.
  • Remove lid; taste and adjust seasonings as needed. Turn heat up so stew starts to boil.
  • Dissolve cornstarch in 2 tablespoons cold water. Stir until the mixture is smooth. Pour cornstarch/water mixture into stew and stir constantly, about 30 seconds to a minute, until thickened to your likening.
Leave a Reply

